Section B: Be creative

In my ELA class we had to do assignments based off of the movie I am Sam. I chose to find four songs that relate to the film or one of it’s themes. Provide lyrics and a short paragraph write up for each to explain your selection of it and how it relates to the movie.

Two happy songs:
Happy 
I feel good 
 
Two sad songs:
Sad song 
I’m only human 
 
Explanation:
I chose the song “I feel good” by James Brown because I can see it fitting in really well when Sam started his new job at BP’s. A line in the song is “I can hold you in my arms and do no wrong” this relates because when Sam had Lucy everything was ok and happy.
I chose the song “happy” William Pharrell because at the end of the movie when Sam picked up Lucy and started running around it was like there family was pieced back together. A line from this song that I can relate to the movie is “like happiness is the truth” I relate this because Sam was always about the truth And lies were wrong.
 
I chose the song “I’m only human” by Christina Perri because when Sam got Lucy taken away at her birthday party he was very upset. A line from the song is “I’m only human” all Sam was trying to do was be “normal” like everyone else.
I chose the song “sad song” by We The Kings because after a while when Sam started to lose hope and give up it was like he had lost himself. A line from the song is “without you I feel broke like a half of a whole” because when Sam didn’t have Lucy he was broken and had lost everything he had worked for 
 
Lyrics: Happy  [Produced by Pharrell Williams]  [Verse 1] It might seem crazy what I’m ’bout to say Sunshine she’s here, you can take a break I’m a hot air balloon that could go to space With the air, like I don’t care, baby, by the way  [Hook] (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you know what happiness is to you (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do  [Verse 2] Here come bad news, talking this and that (Yeah!) Well, give me all you got, don’t hold it back (Yeah!) Well, I should probably warn ya, I’ll be just fine (Yeah!) No offense to you, don’t waste your time, here’s why…  [Hook] (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you know what happiness is to you (Because I’m happy) Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Lyrics: I feel good 
   
“I Got You (I Feel Good)” James Brown 
 
Wo! I feel good, I knew that I would, now I feel good, I knew that I would, now So good, so good, I got you  Wo! I feel nice, like sugar and spice I feel nice, like sugar and spice So nice, so nice, I got you  [Sax, two licks to bridge]  When I hold you in my arms I know that I can do no wrong and when I hold you in my arms My love won’t do you no harm  and I feel nice, like sugar and spice I feel nice, like sugar and spice So nice, so nice, I got you  [Sax, two licks to bridge]  When I hold you in my arms I know that I can’t do no wrong and when I hold you in my arms My love can’t do me no harm  and I feel nice, like sugar and spice I feel nice, like sugar and spice So nice, so nice, well I got you  Wo! I feel good, I knew that I would, now I feel good, I knew that I would So good, so good, ’cause I got you So good, so good, ’cause I got you So good, so good, ’cause I got you  [End lick]  [Short pause, drum cue]  Hey! Oh yeah-a…
 
 
Lyrics: I’m only human Christina Perri  I can hold my breath I can bite my tongue I can stay awake for days If that’s what you want Be your number one  I can fake a smile I can force a laugh I can dance and play the part If that’s what you ask Give you all I am  I can do it I can do it I can do it  But I’m only human And I bleed when I fall down I’m only human And I crash and I break down Your words in my head, knives in my heart You build me up and then I fall apart ‘Cause I’m only human  I can turn it on Be a good machine I can hold the weight of worlds If that’s what you need Be your everything  I can do it I can do it I’ll get through it  But I’m only human And I bleed when I fall down I’m only human And I crash and I break down Your words in my head, knives in my heart You build me up and then I fall apart ‘Cause I’m only human  I’m only human I’m only human Just a little human  I can take so much ‘Til I’ve had enough 
frame width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/RxpOFeDdpw4″ frameborder=”0″ gesture=”media” allow=”encrypted-media” allowfullscreen>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *